Explicación.

Well the whole thing is about a decision I made a few days ago, something I've had in mind for quite a long time though. With a very close friend passing away recently, I've had some serious trouble with handelling my feelings and keeping my concentration up at school. I've usually been an A-student, really ambitious and all that stuff, but the last month or two I've barely showed up at school at all. I've missed a lot of stuff and I'm now so far behind that it's gonna be really hard to catch up and keep my grades, if I can manage to catch up at all. I haven't made any clear desicions yet, but it's leaning towards the option that I'm gonna take a year off and then start fresh next fall.

OK, so suppose I drop out of school the rest of the year. No school means a lot of time, hence the question "what on earth am I going to do until next fall arrives?!"


 
Basically this is the idea:

I want to go to another country and work as a volunteer, probably at a school (teaching English) or at some place where they run some sort of nature care-project. The countries that I've particulary been looking at are
Ghana and Mexico. I really want to go to both places, but it costs quite a lot to be there during a longer period (we're talking 8-12 weeks at each place) so maybe I'll have to narrow it down to either just one place or fewer weeks at both places. We'll see.
This whole volunteer-thingie is something that's been in the back of my head for a long time actually, but I didn't plan on making something out of it until I'd finished school and all that. I had (and still have) plans on joining the military to be able to work with the Swedish Peace Force in other countries and stuff like that.


So, why these two countries?

Mexico is a country that I've always wanted to go to someday, and both my parents have talked about going there soooo many times but it just never happened.
If I go to Mexico I'll work at a school in Mexico City, teaching English and helping out with other things. Since I already know their language pretty well I'll be able to benefit much more from this trip than the other ones going there with less language skills. I'll be able to teach better (they barely know any English at all in these areas) and maybe best of all; I'll be able to develope my Spanish an awful lot. I've been to Spain twice, living with families that didn't know any English at all and I learned SO MUCH even though I was there only one week at a time. Just imagine what 8 weeks would do for me!

Ghana, then?
When I was in primary school, my class rasied money in order for a school (or an orphanage, I don't remember) to be built somewhere in Ghana, and therefore just the name of that country remained in my brain. Whenever I think of Africa I think of Ghana in particulair.
It is also a country that, unlike many other African countries, doesn't have French as its official language. That's good, 'cus I'm very.. limited when it comes to French. Quite a lot of people speak English, and I would very much like the opportunity of studying an African language such as Twi or Ewe. Like in Mexico I would teach English in a local school and/or work with orphans.


My mother called my school today, and I've got an appointment tomorrow with the school nurse and some other people from there, and I really hope for some decisions to be made then. You have to book the trip at least two months before departure, so the sooner the better. 

My life is really a mess right now with most things not what they used to be. All I know is that I haven't been this enthusiastic about anything the last couple of months which indicates that this may be something that could help me to move forward to a better state of mind and all that.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Julia

Jag beundrar dig. Verkligen. Med tanke på att du säger att du inte mår så bra så känns det väldigt fel att säga att jag önskar jag var du. Men det gör jag, inte den situation du är i kanske, men alltså. Du har sådana ambitioner, sådan självinsikt. Jag önskar att jag hade en gnutta av den kraft du har (fast nu känner jag dig inte så väl, men det intryck jag har av dig). Skulle så gärna vilja göra något av mitt liv just nu. Jag önskar dig all lycka till Loppan. Det låter så jävla underbart!

2008-10-23 @ 21:31:47

Shoot me!

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback